Posted on 1 Comment

Color Me Fabric by Hayley Crouse

I had the wonderful opportunity to play with some of the new prints of Color Me Fabric by Hayley Crouse for Micheal Miller. As soon as I saw this floral, I knew it was destined to be a bag or purse of some kind! I wanted a pattern that I could showcase the print without breaking it up too much. The search was on! I started looking at the patterns I had in my pattern stash, and man, the options! I decided to try a swoon pattern that I hadn’t sewn yet, as the numerous other patterns from her that I have sewn have all come out perfect! I wanted something with simple lines and a couple pockets. I ended up picking Ethel. She is a free pattern, so be sure to show Swoon your love and appreciation!

IMG_3646
Close up of the front pocket

This fabric was a dream to sew up! I didn’t prewash it as I was making a bag, but I did iron it with some best press. the fabric took to the hot iron well, and slid through my machine so nice! I paired the back and white fabric with a nice bright solid yellow. as I was going through my solid stash to pick a color, I wasn’t falling in love with anything until I pulled the yellow out! It is so bright and cheery!

IMG_3642 IMG_3644

I opted for a 2nd slip pocket rather than a zipper, as I wanted a place to put my phone when I am out that is easily accessible. The bag also has a larger slip pocket that is perfect for coupons and cards that I like to keep handy!

I am excited to purchase more of this line when it releases! I see many more bags and wallets coming soon!

Which print are you most excited for?

IMG_3645 IMG_3640

IMG_3638 IMG_3637

Happy sewing!

~~Larissa

1 thought on “Color Me Fabric by Hayley Crouse

  1. […] Larissa from Connected by a Thread sewed up a purse with the floral on a black background. I love the pop of yellow in the lining! You can read more about her purse on her blog. […]

Leave a Reply