Posted on 7 Comments

A Vision to Remember Houndstooth quilt

Time for another A Vision to Remember Pattern!! This time, we are using the Houndstooth Quilt pattern. I absolutely love this finished quilt!

IMG_4038

Whenever I see a houndstooth print or pattern, I think of the old Atari game Space invaders. Something about it makes me think of that game!

Bobbi (the designer) was so kind to send me the fabric for this quilt.  I am always up to sew whatever the designer wants to see, so when she asked if black and red were okay to send, I said sure! It is not my usual choice of pastels or neutral colors, but I love the contrast of the red and black!

IMG_4026

the red flannel has a bit of a marbled look to it, which was hard to capture in the pictures. My two year old has already tried to lay claim to this blanket, even though it will go in my shop this week!

IMG_4034

Even the back looks awesome!

Lets talk pattern details:

Finished quilt: 46″ x 46″ (that is with the optional border added)
Easy to follow step by step directions with pictures and diagrams to help those that are a bit more visual.
a final layout diagram is included to help with placing the pieces in the correct order to achieve the houndtooth print.

Honestly, the sewing of the pattern was quick. cutting and prepping everything took the longest for me. Of course clipping all the seams takes a while as well. this one has been through the wash once, but once it is washed a few more times, the rag quilt effect will be much better.  I am already thinking up the next color combinations for my next houndstooth quilt!

What colors do you want to see? Leave me a comment and I might just make one (or three!)

 

Be sure to check out all the amazing blankets on tour this week!

Be sure to check out the other amazing bloggers and their quilts on tour this week!

 3/21/16
 Larissa from Connected by a Thread
3/22/16
Bethany from Sew Not Perfect
3/23/16
Rebecca from Finn’s Door
3/24/16
Denita from HattieLu Handmade
JaNette from Merri Poppins
3/25/16
Kelly from Handmade Boy

7 thoughts on “A Vision to Remember Houndstooth quilt

  1. This is so fun! It would be fun to use this pattern to showcase a busy print and contrast it with a coordinating solid.

  2. I love the red and black!! It looks very retro.

  3. Oh my gosh! I love how this turned out 🙂 Stunning!

  4. This turned out so well! I love it!

  5. This quilt seems like it would be great for a little kid to curl up with – or to use to keep warm at a sporting event! Great job.

  6. […]  Larissa from Connected by a Thread  3/22/16 Essence from Amazing Adventures of Bubba and Bug Bethany from Sew Not […]

  7. […]  Larissa from Connected by a Thread  3/22/16 Essence from Amazing Adventures of Bubba and Bug Bethany from Sew Not […]

Leave a Reply